Falling by the wayside

So it took less than a week to break my resolve. The weather is lovely today, and I’m getting so tired of limp salad leaves from the local market that I sneaked out into the garden this morning, prepared a few pots and planted them up. First sowings are dill, parsley and salad leaves (“French” variety – will they put up with the heat better than others, I wonder?)

Just so no-one notices how weak-willed I am, they’ve been placed on the upstairs balcony. This is my nursery corner, where the potted seedlings receive all the tender loving care they could wish for, before being transplanted down in the Real World of the garden with all its bugs and other nasties.

Oh, and a few Tagetes starfire mixed – bright and pretty marigolds – also found their way into a pot. Excellent for pollinators, so essential to have them PDQ. That’s my excuse…

The "secret garden" - early days.

The “secret garden” – early days.

Leave a Reply

